2013 Brooke E. Gonzalez Clinic in Newport

Sail Newport2013 Sail Newport Advanced Racing Clinic in Memory of Brooke Gonzalez

The 12th Annual Sail Newport Advanced Racing Clinic in memory of Brooke Gonzalez will take place Thursday, June 13th (report day) through Sunday, June 16th at Sail Newport in Newport, RI. The number of applicants for this year’s clinic was overwhelming with over 200 applicants. We had a very difficult task this year with so many great applicants and resumes and we are pleased to say that we are taking record numbers. However, we do have restrictions on the number of sailors we can take due to housing, food, boat charter availability, safety boats, coaches, and other logistics. Those who were not accepted have been placed on the waiting list and will be notified after May 1 if a spot opens. We are asking that all accepted sailors register and pay in full by May 1, 2013 or they will forfeit their spot in the clinic. No exceptions!

Our coaches for this year’s clinic include: Ed Baird, Leandro Spina, Cy Thompson, Elizabeth Kratzig Burnham, Zack Leonard, Ken Legler, Isabelle Kinsolving Farrar, Jonathan Farrar, Andrew Campbell, Bern Noack, Richard Feeny, Alice Manard Leonard, Justin Assad, Brian Swingly, and Nick Ewenson and we will have a few more excellent coaches that will be announced soon. Please see the bottom of this email for links for registration and we ask that you please email Clinic Director John Mollicone at John_Mollicone@brown.edu if you plan to attend, not attend, or have any changes by May 1. For wait-listed sailors, you will be contacted by John if a spot opens sometime after May 1, but please feel free to check in anytime in May or early June.

We are proud to announce this year’s accepted group of sailors for the Club 420, International 420, Laser Radial, and new for 2013 the Byte and F16 classes:

Accepted Club 420s (with Spinnaker and Trapeze) (24 boats)
Curtis Adam/Emily Roberts (Newport, RI)
Emilia Clementi/Jacqueline Berlin (Venice, CA)
Kyle Comerfrod/Nicholas Floyd (Annapolis, MD)
Nick DiGiovanni/Julia McKown (Barrington, RI)
Meg Gerli/Jack Gerli (Greenwich, CT)
Ty Ingram/Peter Schneider (White Plains, NY)
Noah Kelleher/Sarah Kelleher (Upton, MA)
KB Knapp/Olivia Gassner (Syossett, NY)
Julia Lambert/Stephanie Houck (Cumberland Foreside, ME)
Peter Lynn/Lydia Grasberger (Marblehead, MA)
Hugh MacGillivray/Andrew Sheerin (Portsmouth, RI)
Erin MacLennan/Kyla MacLennan (Ridgewood, NJ)
Elizabeth Mignon/Lily Graff (Bay Head, NJ)
Mimi Paz/Sydney Avitia-Jaques (Marina Del Rey, CA)
Sophia Reineke/Calli Lewis (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Clayton Sasaki/Anna Morin (London, England)
Alex Schwinn/Tyler Killion (Keller, TX)
Alie Toppa/Liza Toppa (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Clark Uhl/Thornton Uhl (Marblehead, MA)
Elena VandenBerg/Evan Morgan (Annapolis, MD)
Alex Vasilou/Abby McFadyen (Wilmette, IL)
Thomas Walden/Will Hundahl (St. Thomas, USVI)
Sean Walsh/John Sipp (Rye, NY)
Emma White/Grace Lucas (Annapolis, MD)

Accepted International 420s (with Spinnaker and Trapeze) (11 boats)
Russell Clarida/Finn Mundinger (Southport, CT)
Reinier Eenkema van Dijik (Rye, NY)
Audrey Giblin/Taylor Gavula (Monmouth Beach, NJ)
Megan Grapengeter-Rudnick/Haley Fox (Darien, CT)
Casey Klingler/Fiona Walsh (Darien, CT)
Will Logue/Forrest Thomas (Riverside, CT)
Jake Megaffin/Alexander Sapp (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Tyler Paige/Ian Robinson (New York, NY)
Jack Parkin/Florian Eenkema van Dijik (Riverside, CT)
Allison Surrette/Ali ten Hove (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Lucy Wilmot/Kaleigh Allen (Orinda, CA)

Accepted Laser Radials (28 boats)
Bryce Andreason (Marblehead, MA)
Lindsey Babb (Saratoga, CA)
Nic Baird (St. Petersburg, FL)
Ty Baird (St. Petersburg, FL)
Read Beigel (Severna Park, MD)
Gilliam Boehringer (Stamford, CT)
Colin Brego (St. John, USVI)
Mack Bryan (St. Croix, USVI)
Rachel Bryer (Jamestown, RI)
Roger Dorr (Sands Point, NY)
Gerard Eastman (Locust Valley, NY)
Tyler Fleig (Portsmouth, RI)
Richie Gordon (Ridgefield, CT)
James Harvey (Darien, CT)
Haley Kachmar (Avon, CT)
Malcolm Lamphere (Lake Forest, IL)
Drake Lyon (Grosse Point, MI)
Jack Marshall (Auburndale, MA)
William Marshall (Newton, MA)
Alexandra Maurillo (Singapore)
Corinne Peters (Nova Scotia, Canada)
Dana Rohde (Richmond Hills, GA)
William Romeo (Friendswood, TX)
Andrew Schoene (Annapolis, MD)
Nicholas Sertl (Rochester, NY)
Patrick Shanahan (St. Petersburg, FL)
Maddie Widmeier (Pipersville, PA)
Lawson Willard (San Francisco, CA)

Accepted Bytes (7 boats)
Amina Brown (Jamestown, RI)
Dirk Johnson (Middletown, RI)
India Johnstone (Newport, RI)
Chris Manson-Hing (Revere, MA)
Henry Marshall (Newton, MA)
Sam Morrell (Tortola, BVI)
Cecilia Wollman (Smiths, Bermuda)

Accepted F16s (4 boats)
Ryan Epprecht/Dominic Scarpellino (Madison, CT)
Jimmy Gieseke/Emma Vogel (Newport, RI)
David Hein/Max Hudson (Rocky River, OH)
Brendan Read/Jonny Gieseke (Middletown, RI)

***For all accepted Club 420, International 420, Laser Radial, Byte, and F16 sailors, you can register at http://www.sailnewport.org/Clinics/BEGReg.html Charter boat information is there as well. If you have any problems or questions regarding registration, please contact Kim Hapgood at kim.hapgood@sailnewport.org

We are all very excited about this year’s clinic which will be our largest to date and the largest in North America.

John Mollicone, Clinic Director